[ skip to content ]

Faculty and Staff

Key to Office Abbreviations
ECSB=Engineering and Computational Sciences Building
KAUF=Kaufman Hall
PHEC=Peninsula Higher Education Center
VMASC=Virginia Modeling, Analysis and Simulation Center
EVMS=Eastern Virginia Medical School

Department of Modeling, Simulation and Visualization Engineering - Department Office

E.V. Williams Engineering and Computational Sciences Building
Norfolk, VA 23529

Faculty

Name                              Contact Information Research Interests 

Rick McKenzie, PhD
Professor and Chair

Website

rdmckenz@odu.edu(757) 683-5590
ECSB 1303

Medical modeling and simulation, human behavior representation, and simulation architectures often focusing on aspects of scientific visualization and virtual reality.

Yuzhong Shen, PhD
Associate Professor and Graduate Program Director

Website

yshen@odu.edu
(757) 683-6366
ECSB 1113
Game-based learning; visualization and computer graphics; modeling and simulation; and, signal and image processing.

Jim Leathrum, PhD
Associate Professor and Chief Departmental Advisor

jleathru@odu.edu
(757) 683-3741
ECSB 1115

Parallel and distributed simulation, hardware and software simulation architectures, and applications of discrete event simulation to multi-modal transportation systems.
Michel Audette, PhD
Assistant Professor
maudette@odu.edu
(757) 683-6940
ECSB 1117
Medical applications in M&S including imaging and surgery.
Bharat Madan, PhD
Professor
bmadan@odu.edu
(757) 683-6163
ECSB 1322
Network and cyber security applications.

Roland Mielke, PhD
University Professor

rmielke@odu.edu
(757) 683-4570
ECSB 1301
Systems theory, mathematical modeling, modeling and simulation education, application of continuous simulation in electrical engineering, and applications of discrete event simulation in transportation and enterprise decision support.

ManWo Ng, PhD
Assistant Professor

Website

mng@odu.edu
(757) 683-6665
ECSB 1318
Modeling and analysis of transportation networks, and modeling and simulation of emergency evacuation for disaster management.
Ahmed Noor, PhD
Eminent Scholar and William E. Lobeck Professor
aknoor@odu.edu
(757) 766-5233
PHEC 200
Computational mechanics, multi-scale modeling and simulation, interactive visual simulation, and advanced simulation-based learning environments.

John Sokolowski, PhD
Associate Professor and Executive Director of VMASC

Website

jsokolow@odu.edu
(757) 686-6232
VMASC

Human behavior modeling; decision system modeling; multiagent system simulation; and, modeling and simulation representation of social systems
Masha Sosonkina, PhD
Professor
msosonki@odu.edu
(757) 683-6367
ECSB 1316 
Physical based modeling and high performance computing and simulation.

Faculty with Joint Appointment

Name Contact Information Research Interests

N. Rao Chaganty, PhD
Joint Appointed Professor with Mathematics

rchagant@odu.edu
(757) 683-3897
ECSB 2323
Large deviations, generalized linear models, estimating equations

Adjunct Faculty

Name Contact Information Research Interests

Catherine M. Berry, PhD

Website

cmbanks@odu.edu
VMASC
(757) 686-6224

International studies; modeling of social networks

Andrew J. Collins, PhD

Website

ajcollin@odu.edu
VMASC
(757) 638-4437
Multi-agent simulation, multivariate statistics, scheduling, Markov processes, and mathematical modeling
C. Donald Combs, PhD combscd@evms.edu
EVMS
(757) 446-6090
Medical modeling and simulation, gaming applied to health professions education, geospatial health research and health professions education

Saikou Diallo, PhD

Website

sdiallo@odu.edu
VMASC
(757) 638-6320
Interoperability of simulations; composability of models.
Rafael Diaz, PhD rdiaz@oduu.edu
VMASC
(757) 686-6233
Operations research, operations management, production and healthcare and public health systems, dependence modeling for stochastic simulation, and simulation-based optimization methods
Barry Ezell, PhD bezell@odu.edu
VMASC
(757) 638-4439
All-hazards Risk and Decision Analysis; Operations Research Systems Analysis; Probabilistic Risk Assessment;  Capabilities-Based Assessment; Group Facilitation; Insurgency and Terrorism M&S
Johnny Garcia, PhD johnny.garcia@simisinc.com
Off-Campus
Combat Modeling
Jose Padilla, PhD jpadilla@odu.edu
VMASC
(757) 686-6200
Human, social, cultural, and behavior modeling; epistemology of modeling and simulation; systems engineering and engineering management.
Yiannnis Papelis, PhD  ypapelis@odu.edu
VMASC
(757) 638-6560
Robotics and autonomous systems; semi-autonomous agents; virtual environments and immersive games; and, discrete event and continuous simulations.
Krzysztof Rechowicz, PhD krechowi@odu.edu
ECSB 1104
(757) 683-3720
Medical applications in modeling and simulation.
Mike Robinson, PhD rmrobins@odu.edu
VMASC
(757) 638-7010
Transportation modeling; evacuation modeling; and, decision making.
Andreas Tolk, PhD atolk@odu.edu Model-based systems engineering, which includes research on modeling and simulation interoperability challenges, in particular in the context of complex systems and system of systems.
Eric Weisel, PhD eweisel@odu.edu
KAUF 129A
(757) 683-6062
Operations research; applied statistics, including design of experiments; advanced mathematics; modeling and simulation; and, nuclear engineering.
Xunlei Wu, PhD Off-campus Applications of modeling, simulation and visualization to medicine and health care.

Academic Advisor and Program Manager

Name E-mail  Office Location Phone 
Trey Mayo rmayo@odu.edu ECSB 1200  (757) 683-5946

Fiscal Technician

Name E-mail Office Location  Phone 
Zowie Lucas zlucas@odu.edu ECSB 1108 (757) 683-3033

Administrative Assistant

Name E-mail Office Location  Phone
Jayne Massey jmassey@odu.edu ECSB 1300 (757) 683-3720